Uday Shankar re-elected as IBF president

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media Publishing
Last updated : September 21, 2011
Sunil Lulla is the new vice-president; he replaces G Krishnan, who quit TV Today as executive director and chief executive officer.

The Indian Broadcasting Foundation (IBF) has elected its new office bearers in the 12th Annual General Meeting.

While Uday Shankar, chief executive officer, STAR India, has been elected as president, IBF, Sunil Lulla, managing director and chief executive officer (CEO), Times Television Network, is the new vice-president. He replaces G Krishnan, who quit TV Today as executive director and CEO. Prior to this, Lulla was the treasurer of IBF.

Meanwhile, Punit Goenka, managing director and chief executive officer, Zee Entertainment Enterprises, has been named as the new treasurer.

The new board for the IBF comprises 12 members -- Haresh Chawla, Group CEO, Network18 and Viacom18, I Venkat, director, ETV (Eenadu), Jawahar Goel, managing director, DishTV, Jayant M Mathew, director, MM TV, KVL Narayan Rao, executive vice-chairman, NDTV Group, Man Jit Singh, CEO, MSM, Paritosh Joshi, CEO, STAR CJ Network India, Rajat Sharma, chairman, India TV, and Siddharth Jain, vice-president and general manager (distribution and business operations), Turner International India and South Asia.

In addition to the above, the IBF has also co-opted three new directors to the board this time -- K Madhavan, managing director, Asianet Communications, Markand Adhikari, vice-chairman and managing director, Sri Adhikari Bros Television Network, and Raj Nayak, CEO, Colors.

The IBF has also selected two special invitees who will be invited to all board meetings -- Monica Tata, vice-president and general manager (entertainment networks), Turner International India and South Asia, and Manu Sawhney, managing director, ESPN.

For the record, prior to Shankar, Jawahar Goel was president, IBF, and had held the post for the last six years.

First Published : September 21, 2011
Search Tags

© 2011 afaqs!