NBA re-elects its board of directors for 2012-13

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, New Delhi | In Media Publishing
Last updated : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
While KVL Narayan Rao, executive vice-president, NDTV Group will continue to be the president, Barun Das, CEO, Zee News, will be vice-president of News Broadcasters Association.

KVL Narayan Rao

Barun Das

Ashok Venkatramani

NBA has re-elected its board of directors for the second time. KVL Narayan Rao, executive vice-president, NDTV will continue to be the president, while Barun Das, CEO, Zee News will be the vice-president of the association. Also, Ashok Venkatramani, CEO, ABP News, MCCS, will continue to be the honorary treasurer for NBA.

Rao was elected president of the association in 2010, when he replaced Sameer Manchanda, chairman and promoter of DEN Networks. Das and Venkatramani also continue in their said positions, held since 2010.

Rao has served in the Indian Revenue Service from 1979 to 1994. He began his career as a journalist with the Indian Express, and has been associated with the NDTV Group since 1995 as general manager, and later (since 1998) as executive director. In 2007, he was appointed group CEO, and in July this year, Rao was promoted as executive vice-chairperson, NDTV Group.

After completing B Tech from IIT Madras, Das has held various positions at senior managerial levels in MCCS, Astro All Asia Networks, the India Today Group, and the ABP Group.

Venkatramani is a mechanical engineer from Mumbai, and an MBA from IIM Ahmedabad. He started his career with Unilever, and was associated with the group for 19 years.

The other members of the NBA board include Rajat Sharma, chairman, Independent News Service; Sunil Lulla, managing director and CEO, Times Global Broadcasting Company; and Saikumar Balasubramanian, chief operating officer, ibn18 Broadcast.

Also, Anil Mehra, director, TV Today Network and Anurradha Prasad, chairperson-cum-managing director, News24 Broadcast India are in the team of office bearers.

First Published : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
Search Tags

© 2012 afaqs!