Sony Six to bring back Six Nations Rugby

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media Publishing
Last updated : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
The tournament will be telecast live between February 1 and March 15. The matches will be telecast between 8 pm and 11 pm on Sony Six and Sony Six HD.

Sony Six

RBS 6Nations

Sony Six, the sports channel from Multi Screen Media, will telecast the 2014 edition of Six Nations Rugby which will be telecast live between February, 1 and March, 15. The matches will be telecast on the prime time slot of 8 pm-11 pm on Sony Six and Sony Six HD.

The tournament consists of a league of six European nations - England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, Italy and France. Each team plays every other team once, with home field advantage alternating from one year to the next. Two points are awarded for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss. Defending champions Wales take on Italy in the opening game.

The channel telecast the event live in 2013 too, with other rugby events like Super Rugby and Rugby Championship (formerly Tri Nations), in addition to Setanta's flagship rugby programme: The Breakdown.

The Six Nations is the successor to the Five Nations Championship (1910-31 and 1947-99) which in turn succeeded the Home Nations Championship (1883-1909 and 1932-39). The Home Nations Championship, played between teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, was the first international rugby union tournament.

Interestingly, cricket is not a major contributor to the channel's total content. It boasts of a strong alternative sports line-up including 2014 FIFA World Cup, UEFA EURO 2016, Qualifiers for UEFA EURO 2016, European Qualifiers for 2018 FIFA World Cup, 2018 FIFA World Cup, TNA, The Australian Open Tennis Championship, The NBA and The Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC).

First Published : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
Search Tags

© 2014 afaqs!