Star Sports to air Yonex All England Open Badminton Championship

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, New Delhi | In Media Publishing
Last updated : March 04, 2015
The championship will get over 200 biggest names from the sport, including Saina Nehwal and K Srikanth.


India's leading badminton players, Saina Nehwal and K Srikanth, will lead the country's challenge against the world's best badminton players at the upcoming Yonex All England Open Badminton Championship. Over 200 of the biggest names in badminton will get set for the super series tournament, the first of which will be telecast live across the Star Sports network, starting March 5. The tournament will be telecast live on Star Sports 2 and Star Sports HD 2.

Saina Nehwal, unbeaten in 2015, is one of the favourites for the title. She along with Ashwini Ponnappa and Jwala Gutta will represent India in the women's category.

Srikanth and Parupalli Kashyap will be leading an 11-member strong men's contingent for India this year. Srikanth is the highest ranked Indian male player in the international circuit, with a world ranking of 4, and is the first Indian to win a Super Series Premier Men's title. Having defeated former World No. 1 Lin Dan to win the China Open Super Series Premier in 2014, Srikanth is India's best chance to succeed Prakash Padukone and Pullela Gopichand as the third Indian to win the Men's singles title at the Championships.

The Yonex All England Open Championship is a keenly followed affair for Indian badminton fans with Pullela Gopichand's triumph in the 2001 edition of the Championship still fresh in their minds. Gopichand became the second Indian to achieve this feat after Padukone won the Championship in 1980.

The Yonex All England Open Badminton Championship is one of the world's oldest and most prestigious badminton tournaments, played annually. This year, the tournament is being played at the Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham, England. The tournament will be played under five categories- Men's Singles, Women's Singles, Men's Doubles, Women's Doubles and Mixed Doubles.

First Published : March 04, 2015

© 2015 afaqs!