afaqs! news bureauPublished: 9 Apr 2012, 6:30 PM
Company Briefs

BloombergUTV honours India's financial leaders and visionaries

Company Brief

New Delhi, April 10, 2012

BloombergUTV, India's premier business news channel, presented the Financial Leadership Awards 2012 to honour the extraordinary Financial Leaders and Visionaries of India's Financial Sector. Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee and a host of other dignitaries from the industry presented the awards to winners.

BloombergUTV honours India's financial leaders and visionaries
The Financial Leadership Awards were bestowed on twenty corporates across banking, equity, currency, commodity, insurance and mutual fund sectors. This year, BloombergUTV has instituted two new awards viz., 'Woman Leader of the Year' and 'Life Time Achievement Award' to recognise and honour the achievements and contribution of individuals from the sector.

Deepak Lamba, business head at BloombergUTV, speaking on the occasion said, "It is an honour and privilege for BloombergUTV that Mr Mukherjee consented to grace the Financial Leadership Awards this evening. I would like to extend hearty congratulations to all the winners. This is the second consecutive year that Mr Mukherjee joined us to honour and recognise the visionaries and achievers of the Indian financial sector, which is a testimony to the fact that these Awards are held in high esteem by all the stakeholders of the Indian financial sector."

Deepak Parekh, chairman of HDFC has guided and nurtured the growth of HDFC to the conglomerate that it is today and was aptly honoured with the 'Life Time Achievement Award'. Shikha Sharma, MD & CEO – Axis Bank was awarded the 'Woman Leader of the Year' award.

In the Banking Category, Axis Bank bagged the 'Fastest Growing Bank' award; Bank of Baroda won the 'Best PSU Bank' award; Karur Vyasa Bank won the 'Best Private Sector Bank; and Standard Chartered Bank won the 'Best Foreign Bank' award.

In the Insurance Category, HDFC Standard Life Insurance bagged the Life Insurer of the Year award; United India Insurance Co. Ltd. bagged the General Insurance of the Year - Public Sector and Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Co. Ltd. won the 'General Insurance of the Year - Private Sector' awards.

In the Mutual Funds category, HDFC Asset Management Co. Ltd. won the 'Best Mutual Fund – Equity' award and Birla Sun Life Asset Management Co. Ltd. won the 'Best Mutual Fund – Debt' award.

In the Broking Category, Religare Commodities Ltd. was awarded the 'Best Commodity Broker'; Nirmal Bang Commodities Pvt. Ltd. won the 'Best Emerging Commodity Broker' award; Motilal Oswal Securities Ltd. bagged the 'Best Equity Broker' award and SMC Global Securities Ltd. won the 'Best Currency Broker' award.

The Jury Panel comprised of well-known and highly respected personalities from the Indian Financial sector. The jury members were Ashok Wadhwa (Group CEO - Ambit Holdings), Keki Mistry (Vice Chairman & CEO - HDFC Ltd.), Shardul Shroff (Managing Partner - Amarchand Mangaldas), Ridham Desai (MD & Co-Head - Morgan Stanley), G N Bajpai (Former Chairman – SEBI), Dr. Janmejaya Sinha (Chairman - Asia Pacific – BCG), Shailesh Haribhakti (Exec Chairman & Managing Partner - BDO Consulting), Amarjit Chopra (President – ICAI), Tamal Bandopadhyay (Dy. Managing Editor – MINT), Kaushal Aggarwal (MD - Avendus Capital), Dr. Chiragra Chakrabarty (Director - Financial Advisory, Deloitte), Karthik Srinivasan (Co-Head - Financial Sector, ICRA) and L Shivakumar (Sr. Group VP & Head - Western Region – ICRA)

The BloombergUTV Financial Leadership Awards were presented by MCX and powered by Sonata with ICRA as the Knowledge Partner, Taj Lands End as the Hospitality Partner and DSN as the OOH Partner. The detailed list of winners is annexed along with.

For further information, please contact:

Ketchum Sampark

Imtiaz Alam

Mobile: 9810227818