Leo Burnett is Agency of the Year at Delhi Ad Club awards

By , agencyfaqs! | In Advertising | April 27, 2005
Contract Advertising bags Campaign of the Year

Leo Burnett has been adjudged as

the Agency of the Year, while Contract Advertising's creative for Domino's bagged the Campaign of the Year at Eureka DAC 2004 Awards, the annual awards function organised by the Delhi Ad Club on April 25. The theme of the evening was 'Eureka' and the celebration of the big idea.

The award for the Best Copywriter of the Year was jointly claimed by Rondeep Gogoi of Leo Burnett and Vaybhav Singh of Saatchi & Saatchi. Saatchi & Saatchi's Swami Anand Tirth was the Art Director of the Year:

Leo Burnett dominated the show, bagging 18 awards at the event, including the coveted Agency of the Year and Best Copywriter of the Year awards.

The agency's work for McDonald's won multiple awards across diverse categories. The client-agency combine won one Gold and one Silver in TVC, three Gold and three Silver in Press/Outdoor/Public Service, one Gold and one Silver in Radio, and another Gold in Non-traditional Media. It's work for Atlas fetched one Gold and one Silver (Press), so did Musicworld (Press). The History Channel (Press) and Jagori (Non-traditional Media) got a Gold each, while National Geographic Channel bagged a Silver (Non-traditional Media).

Other prominent winners included Saatchi & Saatchi, JWT, Contract, TBWA India, Triton Communications, Dmas Communications, Interact Vision, Percept/H, Mudra Communications, Euro RSCG, and iB&W Comm.

Delhi Advertising Club president VK Chopra said judging has been ruthless and with absolute transparency. As many as 35 agencies participated in the event sending 500 entries in all.

Out of the entries received, only a 100 were short listed for the final nomination for 20 categories.

The evening, hosted by actor Aman Verma, gave away three winners and three runners up each one from Press, Television and Cinema, and Campaign.

The categories included foods; beverages; toiletries and household care; health and cosmetic care; clothing, footwear and accessories; consumer durables; homes/decor/leisure; automotive products & accessories; services for the household sector; business products and services; travel and hospitality; media; public service; radio; outdoor; new interactive media; non-traditional media; Copywriter of the Year; Art Director of the Year; and Agency of the Year.

For the first time in the history of the Delhi Ad Club, creative people were directly involved as a part of the jury; Anil Warner of JWT, Rupam Borah of Leo Burnett, Viral Pandya of Saatchi & Saatchi, and Shivjeet Kullar of K Factor were among the 16 creative directors in the 30-member jury.

Other members of the Jury included: Munmun Agarwal (K-Factor), Pradeep Saxena (Hyundai Motor), Rajat Meresh (Madison), Amardeep Singh (Contract), Aatanu Chakarborty (Triton), Shubhabrata Sarkar (TBWA Anthem), Anil Rajput (ITC), Daljit Singh Bedi (CSIR), S. K. Chaturvedi (NHPC), Abhijeet Sarkar (Sahara India Parivar), D. P. S. Sandhu (Prime Minister's Office), Rajinder Raina (HUDCO), Jayshri Jethwaney (Indian Institute of Mass Comm), Elvis Sequeira (Percept/H), Opender Chopra (NHPC), Sushil Pandit (The Hive), Titus Upputuru (O & M), Kunal Banerjee (Omaxe Construction Ltd), Neemo Dhar (Delhi Development Authority), Shakti Siha, Anil Jain (BSNL), Rajesh Bhushan (Health Ministry), and Ajit Pathak (Global Alliance of Public Relation & Comm. Management).

Anand Bazar Patrika was the sponsor of the event.

2005 agencyfaqs!

© 2005 agencyfaqs!