Ad Club Cochin declares winners for Pepper Awards 2008

By , agencyfaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising | April 01, 2008
1 Point Size Chennai was declared Agency of the Year and Malayala Manorama won the Advertiser of the Year award

The Advertising

Club of Cochin has announced the winners of its annual creative awards, Pepper 2008. 1 Point Size Chennai was declared the Agency of the Year on the basis of maximum points received in all categories of the competition.

The points system for the awards includes 15 points for each gold, 10 points for each silver, and five points for each bronze.

TBWA India was the runner-up Agency of the Year. Malayala Manorama won the Advertiser of the Year award. Ananda Narayan and Payal Shah from 1 Point Size won the Copywriter and Art Director of the Year awards, respectively. The awards received more than 600 entries from 55 agencies this year.

Sixty-two entries of the 600 were selected for the nomination round. From these, the number was further cut down to 27 finalists. The jury comprised Prathap Suthan, national creative director, Cheil Communications, Southwest Asia; Josy Paul, chairman and national creative director, BBDO India; and Sajan Raj Kurup, founder, chairman and chief creative officer, Creativeland Asia.

The Pepper Awards are open to advertising agencies from the South Indian states of Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. The categories for this year's awards included television, press, radio, collateral, outdoor, packaging and photography. A special set of Kerala specific awards has been incorporated this time in the jewellery, real estate, textile, hospitality and Ayurveda categories.

PK Natesh, president, Advertising Club of Cochin, says, "The Pepper Awards are open to advertising agencies from all the South Indian states. For the future, we hope the legend of pepper and the creative spirits of the present will gel well to create a niche for Kochi in the global creative space."

© 2008 agencyfaqs!