Radio Mirchi, SET pick up maximum RAPA awards

By Savia Jane Pinto , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media
Last updated : May 19, 2008
Radio Mirchi picked up 11 awards, while SET won six in the radio and television sections, respectively

The Radio

and TV Advertising Practitioners Association of India, better known in the industry as RAPA, has announced the winners of the annual RAPA awards. The awards recognise excellence in radio and television commercials, jingles and programmes, and the people who create them.

Originally, the awards were only for radio advertising. Later, television advertising was included. In its 33rd year, RAPA continues to promote audio-visual advertising through seminars, workshops and lectures.

In the radio section, Radio Mirchi picked up the maximum number of awards. The award for the best radio jockey (male) was picked up by Jeeturaj, while Deva won the best radio jockey (female). In all, Mirchi received 11 awards: two awards in the Radio Jingle category, three in the Radio Spot category, two in the Radio Trailer (Film) category and two in the Radio Sponsored Programmes category.

Worldspace Satellite Radio and Big 92.7 FM won six awards each.

Worldspace picked up awards in the categories of Radio Jingle, Urdu and Radio Programme Channel. Big FM was awarded for its radio jingles in Assamese, Bengali and Kannada, jingle singing, radio sponsored programme (Telugu), for its public service spots in all languages combined and also for excellence in radio.

Radio One received awards for its English radio spot, radio promo, and radio programme channel (Hindi and Kannada). Tarana won the Hindi (female) radio jockey award.

Red FM won awards in the Radio Jingle, Radio Sponsored Programme and Radio Programme Channel categories. Nitin was given the Hindi (male) radio jockey award. Radio Wani also received four awards, one for radio spot (Marathi) and three for radio sponsored programme.

Kochi's Club 94.3 FM took home three RAPAs. One was for radio sponsored programme, humour (Malayalam), the second for jingle composition in all languages combined, and the third for Hindi (female) radio jockey.

All India Radio won an award in the category of Radio Sponsored Programme, Non-Fiction (Assamese).

Among the RAPA distributed for the television excellence, Sony Entertainment Television (SET) walked away with the entertainment channel of the year award. SET received recognition for two of its serials, Virrudh and Amber Dhara, picking up two awards for each. Miditech won five awards in the Children's segment and for its reality show, Lead India. The TV anchor (male) award went to Harun Robert (host of MAD on Pogo), and the TV anchor (female) award went to Mini Mathur (host of Indian Idol on Sony).

Black Magic Motion Pictures won an award in the Public Service Ad (TV) category for the Lead India campaign (TOI). It was also awarded in the TVC (Hindi) and Animation categories.

Contiloe Films won in the Horror Show and Editing (TV Serial) category for the show, Ssshhh Phir Koi Hai. Atharvaa Communications took home four awards in all for its work on Asambhav in the categories of Direction (TV Serial), Script (TV Serial), Cinematographer and Serial Soap.

Jaya TV, Mi Marathi, Zee Marathi, STAR One and Max Multi Screen Media also won awards.

The RAPA special trophy went to regional players in radio and television. Red FM received the DS Mittle special trophy for campaign of the year on radio, and Riya Mukherjee of Radio Mirchi, New Delhi, won the RAPA Vinod Sharma award for outstanding copywriter.

First Published : May 19, 2008

© 2008 afaqs!