UNFPA-Laadli National Creative Excellence Awards announced

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising | July 01, 2008
The call for entries was made in December. More than 500 entries made it to the fight against female foeticide


First, a Mumbai based NGO working on population and health issues within the framework of women's rights and social development, have announced the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)-Laadli National Awards for Creative Excellence for Social Change. The awards specifically target the social issues of female foeticide and falling sex ratio in the country.

The awards were open to creative professionals as well as freelance professionals. Entries included non-commercial material as well as official campaigns. More than 500 entries from across India were registered.

The categories for the awards included Storyboards of TV Commercials, Films and Animation Films; Slogans, Lyrics and Songs; Campaign Ideas; Print Ads and Cartoons; Posters and Outdoor Media; Photography; and Innovative Merchandise Materials. Five winners were to be selected from each category, but only one winner was selected in some of them.

The jury panel included well known advertising professionals such as AP Parigi, chief executive officer, Entertainment Network India; MG Parameswaran, executive director, DraftFCB Ulka; Pranesh Misra, chairman and managing director, Brandscape Worldwide; Mohammed Khan, founder, Enterprise Nexus; Pradeep Guha, chief executive officer, Zee Telefilms; Priti Nair, national creative director, Grey India; Ramesh Narayan, founder, Canco Advertising; and KV Sridhar, national creative director, Leo Burnett.

The winners in the Print Ads and Cartoons category were Pranav Harihar Sharma, Kshitij Patwardhan, Suneel Katarnavare, Amina Rampurawala and Rajesh Kumar. In the Innovative Merchandise category, the winner was Pranav Harihar Sharma. The winner in the Photography category was Swaminathan Nagarathinam. The winners in the Campaign Ideas category were Yashashree Redkar, Pranav Harihar Sharma, Zubin Driver, Sandeep Patil and Lorren Borogghain.

In the Storyboards of TV Commercials, Films and Animation Films category, Vrishasen Dabholkar, Sameer Sahasrabudhe, Metaphor Studios, Aditya and Aakriti Arora won awards. In the Slogans, Lyrics and Songs category, Swaminathan Nagarathinam, Dr Radhika Shukla, Pranav Harihar Sharma, Shyam Bhargava and Rohit Banka walked away with the honours. In the Posters and Outdoor Media category, Pranav Harihar Sharma, Amol Annaldas, Dennis Massey and Komal Mukherjee were the winners.

The special award in the Innovative Idea category was awarded to Zapak Digital Entertainment for the game, Zapak Laadli.

© 2008 afaqs!