Pepper Creative Awards announces 2009 edition

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, New Delhi | In Advertising | February 24, 2009
The creative awards, organised by Ad Club of Cochin, will see some new categories added this year

The Ad Club of Cochin has declared open the Pepper Creative Awards 2009. The last date for the receipt of entries is March 15. The judging of the entries will take place on March 20, 21 and 22. The winners will be declared at the awards function on March 28 at the Le Meridien Hotel and Convention Centre, Kochi.

The contest is open to advertising agencies from the South Indian states of Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka.

Prathap Suthan, national creative director, South West Asia, Cheil Worldwide; Josy Paul, chairperson and national creative director, BBDO India; and Sajan Raj Kurup, chairperson and chief creative officer, CreativeLand Asia will be the members of the jury.

Madhava Menon, president, Advertising Club of Cochin, says, "We are expecting about 1,000 entries for the competition, which has become a stepping stone for the creative fraternity from this part of the world, to participate in other major national and international competitions."

The awards are given in categories such as Agency of the Year, Advertiser of the Year, Art Director of the Year, Copywriter of the Year, Special Jury Award, Campaign of the Year, Press Campaign, TV Commercial, Corporate AV, Outdoor, Radio, Interactive-Web-based, POP, Direct Mailer, Photography and Packaging.

Some of the new categories include Logo Design, Unpublished Works, PR and Promos. An exclusive section for participants from Kerala will cover segments such as jewellery, real estate, textile, hospitality and ayurveda. This section, however, will not add up for the Agency of the Year award.

The winners will be presented with gold, silver and bronze metals and certificates. The points system for the awards will continue to be the same, with 15 points for each gold, 10 points for each silver, and five points for each bronze.

The Ad Club of Cochin has also formed an 11 member trust to plan and conduct the Pepper Awards every year.

In its 2008 edition, 1 Point Size, Chennai was declared the Agency of the Year on the basis of maximum points received in all categories of the competition. TBWA India was the runner-up Agency of the Year. Malayala Manorama won the Advertiser of the Year award. Ananda Narayan and Payal Shah from 1 Point Size won the Copywriter of the Year and the Art Director of the Year awards respectively. The awards received 605 entries from 55 agencies last year.

© 2009 afaqs!