Goafest 2009: Ravi, Pops and Chax to chair creative jury

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, New Delhi | In Advertising
Last updated : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
Ravi Deshpande will lead the print jury, while KV Sridhar and KS Chakravarthy will chair the OOH and Radio jury, respectively

The countdown has begun, and proof for this is the announcement of the jury members for the Creative and Media Abby's at Goafest 2009, which will be held from April 2-4.

For the Creative Abby's, the Advertising Agencies Association of India (AAAI) and Advertising Club Bombay today announced the names of the jury chairmen for the Print, Out of Home and Radio categories. The Creative Abby's will be announced on April 4.

The jury panel for the Media Abby's has also been announced. In this case, the judges have shortlisted 77 campaigns from 417 entries received across 13 categories. The Media Abby's will be announced on April 3.

Ravi Deshpande, chairman and creative officer, Contract Advertising, will chair the jury for the Print category. Deshpande has previously judged at renowned international festivals such as One Show, Dubai Lynx and Cannes. This year, he will also be judging at the D&AD and Clio Awards.

KV Sridhar, national creative director, Leo Burnett, will be the jury chairman for the Out of Home category. He has seen the Indian office of Leo Burnett bag the Agency of the Year award in the Leo Burnett global network last year.

KS Chakravarthy aka Chax, national creative director, Draft FCB Ulka, is the jury chairman for the Radio category. He was among the firsts from India to win a Cannes Lion.

For the Media Abby's, the shortlisted entries were judged by eight well-known members of the media planning and buying business.

Divya Gururaj, managing director, Mediacomm; S Yesudas, chief executive officer, Media Direction India; Pratap Bose, chief operating officer, Mudra Communications; Ajit Verghese, managing director, Maxus; Sathyamurthy NP, president and COO, Lintas Media; Punitha Arumugam, group CEO, Madison India; Gowthaman Ragothaman, Leader - South Asia, Mindshare World, and Divya Radhakrishnan, president, The Media Edge are part of the panel, and will judge the final round.

Ajay Chandwani, co- chairman, Creative Abby - Goafest 2009 and director, Percept, is overwhelmed to have Ravi Deshpande, KV Sridhar and KS Chakravarthy for the judging process of the Goafest.

"They bring with them enormous experience and talent and the desire to look for freshness in creative. We hope to raise the bar on judging at Goafest 2009 once again," he says.

Shashi Sinha, chairman, Media Abby's - Goafest 2009 and CEO, Lodestar Universal is confident of Media Abby's benefiting from the collective experience of each of the jury members.

Sinha reveals that the first round of media entries was evaluated by a panel of 34 judges from across the industry. The 417 entries were divided into four batches, which ensured that the evaluation process was fast and fair. The shortlisted campaigns have been evaluated by the core team of eight jury members.

First Published : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
Search Tags

© 2009 afaqs!