Raj Nayak re-elected president of IAA, India Chapter

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising | September 18, 2009
Raj Nayak, chief executive officer, NDTV Media, has been re-elected as the president of IAA, India Chapter for a second term

Raj Nayak, chief executive officer, NDTV Media, has been re-elected as the president of the India Chapter of the International Advertising Association for 2009-10. The decision was taken at the association's annual general meeting held in Mumbai.

Nayak was first elected president in 2008-09, after being the association's vice-president for a year. He has been associated with IAA for almost eight years.

The new managing committee is as follows: Kaushik Roy (president, brand strategy & marketing communication, Reliance Industries) as vice-president, Lynn D'Souza (chairman & CEO, Lintas Media) as honorary secretary and Jaydeep Gandhi (director, Jaya Advertising) as honorary treasurer.

The other members of the managing committee are: Sam Balsara (chairman and managing director, Madison Communications); Ramesh Narayan (founder, Canco Advertising); MG Parameswaran (executive director and CEO, Mumbai, DraftFCB Ulka); Srinivasan K Swamy (chairman and managing director, RK Swamy/BBDO); Avinash Pandey (vice-president and head of revenue, Star News); and, as special invitee, Pheroza Bilimoria (managing director, Business India).

Pradeep Guha, who was the president before Nayak took over, continues as an ex-officio member of the committee.

IAA is a global network of over 4,000 members and has 56 chapters in 76 countries. The membership is by invitation only and is open to a very select group.

The India Chapter was formed in July 1991, to address the common interests of all the disciplines, across the full spectrum of marketing communications - advertisers, media companies, agencies, direct marketing firms, as well as individual practitioners.

It has a membership of 169 professionals representing marketing, advertising and the media. The India Chapter also has a Young Professional membership for relevant aspirants, students and young professionals below the age of 35.

© 2009 afaqs!