Subhash Chandra honoured with special award by CASBAA

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media Publishing | November 06, 2009
Cable and Satellite Broadcasting Association of Asia has awarded Subhash Chandra for his contribution to the Asian Pay TV industry

Media mogul Subhash Chandra, chairperson, Zee Entertainment Enterprises, has been awarded with a special award for his 'Lifetime Contribution to the Asian Pay TV Industry' by the Cable and Satellite Broadcasting Association of Asia (CASBAA).

CASBAA is an industry based advocacy group dedicated to the promotion of multi-channel television via cable, satellite, broadband and wireless video networks across the Asia Pacific.

The group represents about 130 member organisations in the Pay TV business. Some of the members include Al Jazeera, Asia Broadcast Satellite, Australia Network, Bloomberg Television and Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific, Disney-ABC International Television (Asia-Pacific), HBO Asia, MTV Networks Asia, NBC Universal Networks Asia Pacific, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Sony Pictures Television and the STAR Group.

In a press statement, Marcel Fenez, chairperson, CASBAA, says, "Subhash Chandra's contribution has been critical to the extraordinary achievements of India's Pay TV industry in the last 15 years."

On being honoured, Chandra says, "The achievement is not my own. Many others have made this possible, most notably my old colleagues Ronnie Screwvala of UTV Software, Prannoy Roy, chairperson, NDTV and Raghav Bahl, who leads the Network18 Group".

"Without teamwork, cooperation and investment from within India, we'd never have had an industry that is able to contribute so much to India and the rest of Asia," Chandra adds.

In another development, Anurradha Prasad, chairperson and managing director, BAG Network has been elected to the council of governors of CASBAA.

The council of governors is CASBAA's leading advisory group and all elected members will lead the way, tackling the association's concerns.

Also elected to the 12 member council are Alexandre Muller (TV5MONDE), Andrew Jordan (SAT-GE) and Chris Hoare (Viaccess), amongst others.

Commenting on her appointment, Prasad says, "I am confident that as a member of the council, I will be able to play a more active role in summoning cooperation and support for all CASBAA members."

© 2009 afaqs!