Ravi Deshpande is jury president for Direct Lotus at AdFest 2010

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising | December 09, 2009
AdFest 2010 will take place on March 18-20, 2010 in Pattaya, Thailand

Ravi Deshpande, chairperson and chief creative officer, Contract Advertising has been named the jury president for Direct Lotus at AdFest 2010.

In a press statement, Jimmy Lam, president, AdFest, says, "We are honoured that Ravi (Deshpande) has accepted our invitation. The Direct Marketing category is changing rapidly with the emergence of new technologies and media channels - so it is great to have someone of his calibre sharing his expertise with the rest of the Direct jury panel."

A prominent face at such platforms, Deshpande was honoured as one of the six living legends of Indian advertising in the last 50 years by the Advertising Club in Madras. He was recently invited to join the jury at the 2009 YoungGuns Awards in Sydney. He has also judged other international awards earlier, including Cannes, D&AD, One Show and Clio.

"I think the global financial crisis has created a situation where being innovative is imperative. We are either creative or we perish. At AdFest 2010, I expect to see work that is more responsible, besides being highly creative. These are trying times and advertising on the whole must be more accountable than ever before," Deshpande says.

The Asia Pacific Advertising Festival (AdFest) has announced that next year's festival will take place on March 18-20, 2010 in Pattaya, Thailand. AdFest is an annual regional advertising event that celebrates creativity in the Asia Pacific region. It is a platform designed to elevate creative standard and promote communication within the advertising and production industry.

Sheung Yan Lo, executive creative director, Northeast Asia, JWT and chairperson, JWT China has been named the jury president, outdoor; Washington Olivetto, president and creative director, W/ has been named as the Grand jury president at AdFest 2010.

Other prominent figures to have featured on the AdFest jury in the previous years include Prasoon Joshi, Santosh Padhi, Karl Gomes, Piyush Pandey and Raghu Bhat.

© 2009 afaqs!