NYF 2010's Grand Jury includes four Indians

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising | February 15, 2010
The entries to the New York Festival were thrown open in November last year

The Grand Jury members for the New York Festivals 2010 have been announced.

Four Indians have been chosen to be part of the Grand Jury this year. These are: KB Vinod, executive creative director at Mudra DDB; Kapil Mishra, executive creative director at Leo Burnett; Anto Noval, director and chief creative officer of Hungry and Foolish Creative Products and Denzil Machado, creative director with McCann Erickson.

The entries to the New York Festivals 2010 were thrown open in November 2009. The results of the awards will be declared over a period of time. Entries that were submitted by the first deadline, November 16, 2009, benefited with a 10 per cent discount code.

Vinod is part of the team that will judge the Television and Cinema advertising category. Mishra is on the Print advertising jury. Machado will be part of the jury for Outdoor advertising and Noval will look at the Digital and Interactive advertising entries.

Vinod, who is part of such a judging process for the very first time, says, "From the format of the judging itself, this award show comes across as innovative and different from every other show. I look forward to picking ideas that surprise me, change me, teach me something new, or are just super fun."

A few new sub-categories have been added this year, under which the entries will be judged. In the Television and Film category, a new sub-category called Event Venues has been created. This category includes all arena and stadium productions. It has been created to recognise this uniquely creative and profitable industrial programming niche, and honour those industry professionals who work for it.

Additional categories, which include new sub-categories, have also been announced, in Craft/Technique: Feature/Shorts; News: Program; Regularly Scheduled Entertainment Program; and Student.

Several members of the Indian advertising fraternity graced the jury panel in 2009. KV Sridhar aka Pops, national creative director, Leo Burnett judged the work in the TV/Cinema category; Nitesh Tiwari, executive creative director, Leo Burnett was part of the Radio jury; Agnello Dias of TapRoot India judged the Print category and Saurabh Dasgupta, ECD, Innocean Worldwide was a jury member for the Innovative Advertising category.

© 2010 afaqs!