R K Swamy BBDO sweeps away maximum awards at ADEX 2010

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising | August 03, 2011
While Sunny Side Up lost the top slot to R K Swamy BBDO by a whisker, local agency Doo Creative stepped into the third slot in the award tally.

ADEX 2010, held at the Taj Deccan, Hyderabad, last Friday saw an eclectic mix of winners. Organised by the Advertising Club of Hyderabad, the awards witnessed several big, small, national, as well as local agencies walking away with the top honours.

Started in the year 1990, the award recognises and rewards local agencies for their creative aptitude and noteworthy campaigns. More than 30 agencies participated in ADEX 2010, sending in more than 700 individual entries across 38 categories. Several Hyderabad-based agencies competed with national and multinational players.

R K Swamy BBDO Hyderabad was a topper with 15 awards in all, comprising nine first prizes and six second prizes. These were in recognition of its work for Aparna Constructions, Margadarsi Chit Fund, Hyderabad Industries, Kalanjali, Ramoji Film City, Ushodaya Enterprises, GEF, and Hetero Drugs.

V S Rao, partner, R K Swamy BBDO Hyderabad, tells afaqs!, "These prizes not only recognise our creative strengths, but also reflect the trust our clients have in the agency's ability. The campaign for our client Aparna Constructions helped us clinch the maximum number of awards at ADEX 2010." The agency has been associated with Aparna Constructions for the past three years.

Sunny Side Up ranked second, with eight first prizes and three second prizes. Its work for Green Park (Green Park-Midnight Biryani), Marco Media, Google India and ISB were recognised at ADEX 2010.

The Hyderabad based Doo Creative won awards for its creative effort on Kalaniketan Textiles, Nano, and ISB PGPMAX campaigns. It won a total of 15 prizes, with six first and nine second prizes.

Vijay Kumar, chairperson, ADEX 2010, tells afaqs!, "Some of the agencies here produce outstanding work and are really at par with several national and international agencies as far as creativity is concerned. However, these agencies hesitate to participate in several large award ceremonies fearing the 'Big award ceremony, fat fee' factor."

The winners were adjudged based on various parameters, which varied according to the award group. Each group had three-four judges. In all, there were 38 award categories divided into seven groups.

R Neelamegham, ex-managing director, Akshara Advertising, Hemant Agarwal, managing director, Associated Advertising, director Satish Kasetty, and renowned artist Sachin Jaltare were some of the prominent names on the jury.

Search Tags

© 2011 afaqs!