Top level changes at MRUC

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, New Delhi | In Media | September 22, 2011
While Hormusji Cama is the new chairman, Arvind Sharma of Leo Burnett has been elected the vice-chairman. Raj Nayak of Colors comes on board of MRUC.

Hormusji N Cama has been elected the chairman of MRUC (Media Research Users Council) with effect from September 21. He replaces Lloyd Mathias, chief marketing officer of Tata Teleservices, who was made chairman of the Council in July last year after Andrey Purushottam's tenure was cut short following his exit from Mahindra & Mahindra.

Cama, who is the director of the Gujarati newspaper Bombay Samachar, was elevated to the post of vice-chairman in March. He replaced Bharat Kapadia, director, Lokmat Group, who due to personal reasons, stepped down from the position of vice-chairman, and the board of governors of MRUC.

To fill in the position vacated by Cama, Arvind Sharma, chief executive officer (CEO), Leo Burnett India, has been elected as its new vice-chairman. Apart from this, Raj Nayak, CEO, Colors, has also been brought on the board to replace G Krishnan, who earlier this month, had left TV Today Network as its CEO.

Cama and Sharma will handle their respective positions for two years.

Talking about his immediate mandate, Cama says, "Our immediate concern will be to have a more robust IRS (Indian Readership Survey), now that it will be handled by a new committee involving both MRUC and ABC. We are hopeful that with more heads, we will be better off. Apart from this, we at MRUC, will also focus on new outdoor and digital measurements."

Cama has been on the board of governors of MRUC since September 2007. A former president of the Indian Newspaper Society (INS), Cama has been actively involved in various publishing and industry bodies, and is currently on the board of directors of the Press Trust of India.

For the record, MRUC is a registered not-for-profit body of members drawn from advertisers, advertising agencies, publishers, and broadcast and other media. It was incorporated in 1994, and has nearly 200 members.

Search Tags

© 2011 afaqs!