NBA reappoints KVL Narayan Rao as president

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media Publishing
Last updated : September 22, 2011
Barun Das, CEO, Zee News, will continue as vice-president and Ashok Venkatramani, CEO, Star News, MCCS, as honorary treasurer for NBA.

KVL Narayan Rao, executive vice-chairperson NDTV Group, NDTV, has been reappointed at the president of the News Broadcasting Association (NBA).

The decision was taken at the body's annual general meeting that was held on September 21, 2011. Rao replaced Sameer Manchanda, chairman and promoter of DEN Networks, to become the president of NBA in 2010.

Rao, who began his career as a journalist with the Indian Express, has been associated with the NDTV Group since 1995, as general manager, and later (since 1998) as executive director. In 2007, he was appointed group chief executive officer (CEO), and in July this year, Rao was elevated to executive vice-chairperson, NDTV Group.

Prior to joining NDTV, he was with the Indian Revenue Service.

Meanwhile, Barun Das, CEO, Zee News, and Ashok Venkatramani, CEO, Star News, MCCS, will continue as the vice-president and the honorary treasurer, respectively, for NBA.

After completing B Tech from IIT Madras, Das has held various positions at senior managerial levels in MCCS, Astro All Asia Networks, the India Today Group, and the ABP Group.

Venkatramani is a mechanical engineer from Mumbai, and an MBA from IIM Ahmedabad. He started his career with Unilever, and was associated with the group for 19 years.

The other members of the NBA board include Rajat Sharma, chairman, Independent News Services, Sunil Lulla, managing director (MD) and CEO, Times Global Broadcasting Company, and Saikumar Balasubramanian, chief operating officer, ibn18 Broadcast.

First Published : September 22, 2011
Search Tags

© 2011 afaqs!