Machdar Motorsports assigns media duties for i1 Super Series to Disha Communications

By Shibani Gharat , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media Planning & Buying
Last updated : October 18, 2011
The media spends for the motor sporting event are estimated to be around Rs 10 crore.

Machdar Motorsports has assigned the media duties for its motor sporting event i1 Super Series, to the Bengaluru-based Disha Communications. Several top media agencies were in the race to handle the media mandate for the event.

In August, Machdar Motorsports had initiated preliminary talks with several media agencies. The entire promotional campaign is slated to begin in its full strength from the second week of November. The race calendar for the season will begin in January, 2012.

Confirming the news, George Cherian, vice-president, marketing, Machdar Motorsports, tells afaqs! that the media mix for the campaign will include TV, print, on-ground activation, out of home, and most definitely, social media. "We are looking at targeting the age group of 15-40 years, and those who are auto enthusiasts," he adds. The media spend for this event is estimated at Rs 10 crore.

The UK-based Interstate Associates is managing the creative duties for i1 Super Series, while the Mumbai-based 8848 Sports is taking care of the sponsorship sales.

Massive outdoor activities will be carried out in 10 Indian cities, including Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Chandigarh, Pune, Kochi and Hyderabad.

The i1 Super Series, based on the popular city-based franchisee format, has nine teams representing nine different Indian cities. Each team will race two cars, thus forming an 18-car grid. The team has to have one Indian and one international driver per car. The race will tour across seven cities in Asia, namely, New Delhi, Chennai, Abu Dhabi, Doha, Dubai, Kuala Lumpur and Pattaya.

Each weekend will consist of one qualifying session, and two races in sprint format. A total of 14 races will make up the first season of the i1 Super Car Championship. The drivers will be competing for the title and a total prize money of US$2 million.

First Published : October 18, 2011
Search Tags

© 2011 afaqs!