Winners of 2nd edition of 'Roar Your Way to Cannes' contest announced

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising | May 22, 2012
  • 224
The top rated writer is Gururaj Rao, creative supervisor, Ogilvy Mumbai, followed by Adarsh Atal, creative copywriter, Lowe Lintas & Partners.

Thinkpot Productions, in association with Swiss International Airlines and afaqs!, has announced the winners of the second edition of the Roar Your Way to Cannes (RYWTC) contest.

Gururaj Rao

Adarsh Atal

The top rated writer is Gururaj Rao, creative supervisor, Ogilvy Mumbai. Rao's script for Fox Crime, titled 'The Chase', will take him to Cannes this year.

Not too far behind Rao is Adarsh Atal, creative copywriter, Lowe Lintas & Partners, Bengaluru. It was Atal's script for Pure Magic, titled 'Khatt', that impressed the judges.

The scripts were judged by a panel of national creative directors and creative heads, including Agnello Dias, co-founder and chief creative officer, Taproot India; Amit Akali, national creative director, Grey Worldwide; Arun Iyer, national creative director, Lowe Lintas and Partners; Josy Paul, chairperson and chief creative officer, BBDO India; Ashish Khazanchi, national creative director and vice-chairperson, Publicis Ambience; K V Sridhar, national creative director, Leo Burnett; Malvika Mehra, national creative director, Grey Worldwide; Rajiv Rao, national creative director, Ogilvy India; Senthil Kumar, national creative director, JWT India; Soumitra Karnik, national creative director, Dentsu India; Swati Bhattacharya, national creative director, JWT; and Thomas Xavier, chairman and national creative director, Orchard Advertising.

Addressing the wins, Murali Govindan, producer, Thinkpot Productions, conveys in a press note, "Thinkpot has always celebrated great ideas and original thinking. I convey my heartfelt congratulations to all the top writers, who are going to be the future torchbearers of the advertising industry. I am extremely motivated by the phenomenal response to the contest and we look forward to bringing it back in a bigger manner next year. Thank you to all our judges, afaqs! and Swiss International Airlines."

The top rated scripts can be accessed at

First Published : September 25, 2014 10:34 AM
Search Tags

© 2012 afaqs!