Justice Mukul Mudgal replaces Justice Ajit Prakash Shah as chairperson, BCCC

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media Publishing | February 14, 2014
BCCC is a self regulatory body for the content on all the non-news television channels.

Justice Mukul Mudgal

Justice AJit Prakash Shah

The Board of Directors of Indian Broadcasting Foundation (IBF) has announced the appointment of Hon'ble Justice (Retd) Mukul Mudgal, former chief justice of Punjab & Haryana High Court and former judge of Delhi High Court, as chairperson of its self-regulatory body, the Broadcasting Content Complaints Council (BCCC).

Justice Mudgal succeeds Hon'ble Justice (Retd) Ajit Prakash Shah, who demitted office as chairperson of BCCC after being appointed chairperson of the 20th Law Commission of India in November, 2013.

Justice Mudgal will chair the 32nd meeting of BCCC towards the end of February.

BCCC is a self-regulatory body set up by the Indian Broadcasting Foundation (IBF), which is an industry body for the broadcast industry and comprises 13 members. The chairperson is generally a retired judge of a high court or the Supreme Court. The other 12 members have equal representation from broadcast and non-broadcast backgrounds. Four of these 12 members are selected from national level statutory commissions.

Justice Mudgal was enrolled as advocate in 1973, and practised in Supreme Court of India and Delhi High Court since 1973. He was the advocate on record in Supreme Court from 1978 to 1998 and has also worked with Y S Chitale and P H Parekh.

He was the member secretary/treasurer at Supreme Court Legal Aid Committee (1986-95). In his 41-year career, he has also conducted cases in civil, constitutional and labour laws and PILs. He was a member of the National Legal Services Authority (NALSA); Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), Geneva; and Governing Council of Indian Law Institute.

He was appointed judge of Delhi High Court on March 2, 1998. He was appointed chief justice of Punjab & Haryana High Court on December 5, 2009. After retiring in January, 2011, he chaired a committee set up by the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting to propose changes in the Cinematograph Act, 1952.

After retirement, he chaired a committee appointed by the Supreme Court of India to look into Indian Premier League (IPL) match-fixing allegations.

Search Tags

© 2014 afaqs!