Sony Six bags telecast rights to National Football League

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media Publishing
Last updated : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
The channel will be airing the league for over four years across the Indian subcontinent.

Sony Six, the sports entertainment channel from Multi Screen Media (MSM), has acquired the broadcasting rights for the National Football League (NFL) across the Indian subcontinent. The announcement follows a multiyear television partnership between the NFL and MSM.

The partnership includes television rights to live regular season games, playoff games and the tournament's sporting event, the Super Bowl. According to Prasana Krishnan, business head, Sony Six, the acquisition brings the channel a step closer in reiterating its efforts to provide quality sports content to viewers. "The raw nature of the sport promises audiences a combination of high speed action and thrill," he adds.

Prasana Krishnan

Julie Moeller, vice president of International Media and Business Development, says, "Sony Six's endeavour and focus in delivering fast-paced sports in India, aligns with our long-term goal of popularising NFL in the country. Through live games, marquee events, highlights and league recaps we will provide Indian viewers with a comprehensive platform to experience NFL like never before."

The programming will be themed around educational vignettes, highlight shows and NFL's trademark pre-season documentary series 'Hard Knocks'. Sony Six and the NFL will work collaboratively on initiatives that engage Indian audiences as a means to grow the fan base and increase knowledge and awareness of the NFL.

For the record, NFL is a professional American football league that constitutes one of the four major professional sports leagues in North America. It is composed of 32 teams divided between the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC).

The NFL runs a 17-week regular season from the week after Labour Day to the week after Christmas, with each team playing 16 games. Of the league's 32 teams, six (four division winners and two wild-card teams) from each conference will compete in the NFL playoffs, a single-elimination tournament, that culminates in the Super Bowl.

First Published : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
Search Tags

© 2014 afaqs!