Josy Paul and Prasoon Joshi on International ANDY Awards jury

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising | February 17, 2015
The jury session started on Monday, February 16, and is being chaired by Collen DeCourcy.

Josy Paul, chairman and CCO, BBDO India, and Prasoon Joshi, executive chairman, McCann Worldgroup, are on the jury for the International ANDY Awards - the show established and produced by the Advertising Club of New York.

Josy Paul

Prasoon Joshi

The ANDYs also marks the beginning of the awards season. It is judged by a select jury of globally renowned creative leaders, and awards are granted to both single entries and campaign executions, distinguished by product, service or technique category.

Paul, while commenting on how judging at the ANDY Awards is different from any other, says, "It's the first award show of the season, and it's going to set the tone and standard for the industry. So, that's really important. The theme of the ANDYs is bravery. And that's awesome. Under the leadership of 2015 ANDYs Chair, Colleen DeCourcy, we'll be looking at recognising the industry's best and bravest work - ideas that are at 'the bleeding edge' of communication. Here's a chance for us to pick stuff that goes for great without fear. There is no security, only opportunity."

DeCourcy, partner & global chief creative officer, Wieden + Kennedy, is chairing the jury panel which includes Bob Greenberg, founder/chairman CEO, R/GA New York; Mark Tutssel, global chief creative officer, Leo Burnett Worldwide Chicago; Andrew Keller, chief executive officer/partner, CP+B, Boulder; Juan Carlos Ortiz, president and CEO, DDB Latina Miami; Mike Byrne, partner chief creative officer, Anamoly New York; David Nobay, creative chairman, Droga5 Sydney and Matt Eastwood, worldwide chief creative officer J Walter Thompson, among other leaders of the industry. The jury session started on Monday, February 16.

Last year, Taproot's Santosh Padhi had been chosen as one of the jury members at the awards. Ogilvy's Piyush Pandey and Sonal Dabral of DDB Mudra are some of the other Indian advertising veterans who have been part of the jury earlier. This is Joshi's fifth time on the ANDY awards jury. His first stint was in 2009, and then in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

Founded in 1964, the ANDYs honour global creativity in advertising, and recognise the contributions of individuals and companies who continually innovate, experiment and inspire with novel approaches to communication. For more than 50 years, the ANDY Awards have recognised the brave process of creativity. As the most sought-after awards for creative excellence in advertising, the ANDYs continually raise standards for craftsmanship in the industry, around the world.

© 2015 afaqs!