Sun TV Network to reward comedians

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Media Publishing
Last updated : April 01, 2015
'Comedy Awards 2014' will be aired on Adithya, Gemini and Udaya channels on May 2 and 3.

Sun TV Network is launching a new awards show, Comedy Awards 2014, to acknowledge the comedy genre and its performers.

According to the network, like music, comedy also plays a pertinent role in entertaining the audience. "South Indian films have a reputation of creating some of the biggest stalwarts in comedy. Despite its importance, when it comes to rewarding the work done by comedians there has not been much. All film awards will have just one or two categories for comedies. Incidentally, music has its own awards as well."

Comedy Awards 2014

This need gap created the idea of coming up with an exclusive comedy awards for South Indian movies (Tamil, Telugu and Kannada), by the comedy genre channels of Sun TV Network.

Comedy Awards 2014 is a platform that aims to honour all the comedians who performed well in the year 2014. The categories in which artistes will be honored include 'Best Comedy Film of the Year', 'Best Comedian of the Year- Male', 'Best Comedian of the Year - Female', 'Comedy Icon of the Year', Best Comedy Dialogue of the Year' and 'Best Comedy Film of the Year'.

J Harinarayanan, cluster head - Comedy Channels, Sun TV Network, says, "To make one laugh is the challenging aspect of comedy. Established actors in general and comedy artistes in specific have always had their share of comedy hits in South Indian movies, but there has never been a platform to honour and recognise the kind of work they do. As a dedicated channel for comedy in various languages, this was the need gap we identified and Comedy Awards was born. Owing to the very genre we're catering to, we're quite upbeat that this award will be very special to both the winners and audiences alike."

Viewers of Adithya (Tamil), Gemini (Telugu) and Udaya (Kannada) comedy will also have a chance to vote for their favourite comedian through SMS and ballot boxes that will be kept at various strategic locations across these three states - Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. The awards will be telecast on May 2 and 3.

The network is using social media to amplify awareness and participation.

TVS XL Super HD has come on board as the presenting sponsor and Sharon Plywoods, Twin Birds and Ramraj as associate sponsors.

First Published : April 01, 2015
Search Tags

© 2015 afaqs!