Shashidhar Sinha elected chairman of ABC

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, New Delhi | In Media Publishing
Last updated : September 10, 2015
The CEO of IPG Mediabrands will head the chair for the year 2015-2016.

The Audit Bureau of Circulation (ABC) has unanimously elected Shashidhar Sinha, CEO, IPG Mediabrands, as chairman for the year 2015-2016, effective September 9, 2015.

Shashidhar Sinha

The announcement was made at ABC's 67th Annual General Meeting, where the organisation also formally launched its digital measurement services for publishers.

Commenting on his mandate, Sinha says, "ABC is launching its digital services for publishers and that will be my immediate focus."

The ABC, founded in 1948, is a not-for-profit, voluntary organisation consisting of publishers, advertisers and advertising agencies. The main function of ABC is to lay down a standard and uniform procedure by which member publishers should compute their net paid sales. The circulation figure so arrived at is checked and certified by a firm of chartered accountants which are approved by the bureau. ABC issues certificates every six months to those publishers whose circulation figures conform to its rules and regulations.

Currently, its members include 411 publishers of national and regional importance, 151 advertising agencies, 51 advertisers and 20 new agencies and associations connected with print media and advertising. It covers most of the major towns in India. (Source:

First Published : September 10, 2015
Search Tags

© 2015 afaqs!