Today institutes Citizen One Award

By , agencyfaqs! | In | April 22, 2003
The winner of the Today Citizen One award will be announced on the day the tabloid turns one

Delhi's afternoon tabloid Today has decided to celebrate its first birthday - which falls on April 29 - in a 'meaningful' way. To underscore its commitment to the capital city and "to identify, appreciate and thank individuals who stayed true to Delhi's cause", Today has instituted the Today Citizen One award. This annual award will honour that one person who contributes the most to making Delhi a better place.

For this year's (2003) award, Today - which claims a circulation of 51,741 - has nominated five citizens. They include E Sreedharan, managing director, Delhi Metro Rail Corporation, HD Shourie, director, Common Cause, Amod Shastri, priest, Arya Samaj Mandir, Jagmohan, Union Tourism Minister and Sheila Dikshit, chief minister of Delhi.

While the nominations were done internally, Today wants the citizens of Delhi to participate in choosing the Citizen One 2003. To make the process easy Today has partnered with PVR and Café Coffee Day, so that while going to the movies or cooling off at a Café Coffee Day outlet citizens can cast their vote. Besides, citizens can cat their votes via sms, email, inland post and telephone. Votes received through any of these would be considered as readers' choice.

Both Ajay Bijli of PVR Cinemas and MK Kiran, marketing manager (north), Café Coffee Day are excited about the partnership. "It gives me great pleasure to join hands with Today to bring to our patrons an opportunity to participate in Citizen One 2003. I would also like to congratulate Today for having taken this innovative step to honour eminent personalities who have contributed in many ways for the upliftment of society," says Bijli. Today has also set up closed door boards to contribute in the final selection. Thus the Citizen One will be chosen on the basis of a weighted average of votes polled by the board members, field votes and readers.

There are a number of boards to cover an entire gamut of disciplines. The Campus Board will include a selection of students and dons drawn from campuses. There is the Traders Board - a group of prominent members of the trading community. These include the president of NDTA and president of Khan Market Traders Association. The Residents Welfare Associations Board comprising West End RWA president and IP Extension RWA president will constitute the other selection committee. Last but not the least, there will be the eminent personalities board formed by the likes of JN Dixit, and the CEOs board comprising Ravi Deol, CEO, Barista, BVR Subbu, president, Hyundai, and Rohtash Mal, CEO, Touchtel, among others.

The winner of the Today Citizen One award will be announced on the day the tabloid turns one. © 2003 agencyfaqs!

Search Tags

© 2003 agencyfaqs!