Indian Trade and Technical Telly Awards presented on November 19

By , agencyfaqs! | In | November 20, 2003
Instituted by, the Indian Trade and Technical Telly Awards is into its second year

November 19, 2003, was a commemoration of technical excellence in the field of television with the Indian Trade and Technical Telly Awards, instituted by website, given out at the Tulip Star Hotel in Mumbai.

Into its second year, the Indian Trade and Technical Telly Awards preceded the main event, which is to be held on November 21. Present on the occasion were the "spine" of a production house or TV channel - technical executives, PR and marketing professionals and creative directors - who work behind the scenes to keep the show going.

The main awards of the evening, namely, the TV ad sales head of the year, distribution head of the year, programming head of the year and marketing head of the year, were presented to Neelu Sawhney of Aaj Tak, Shantonu Aditya of SET-Discovery Ltd, Alka Saxena of Zee News and Mubina Ansari of STAR India respectively.

Of the 23 categories, the best visual effects went to Cinevistaas for thriller show Ssshh…Koi Hai on STAR Plus, best TV channel packaging went to MAX, best set design was presented to Jayant Deshmukh for Aamrapali on Doordarshan, best costumes to Neeta Malhotra for Kittie Party on ZEE and the best cameraman trophy was presented to Bhushan Patel for Lipstick on ZEE TV.

Ashish Rego was adjudged the winner of the best background score for Goonj Ateet Ki on Sony Entertainment Television while the award for the best TV show packaging went to Ryan Mascarenhas for Ssshh…Koi Hai on STAR Plus.

The erstwhile content provider-broadcaster team of NDTV and STAR News shared the honours for best promo for a news programme (Reality Bites - Elections), SAB TV walked away with the trophy for best promo for a fiction show (Office Office) and CHannel [V] bagged two awards, one, for the best promo for a format show (Simpoo) and the second, for the best promo for a music programme (Freedom Express).

Moving over to the editing awards, Dhiren Singh was awarded the trophy for TV Picture Editor of the Year (fiction) for thriller show Kahin Kissi Roz on STAR Plus while T Gopalkrishnan was adjudged TV Picture Editor of the Year (non fiction) for the 2002 year ender on STAR News.

Apart from its trophy for best TV channel packaging, MAX also bagged the TV Channel Promo of the Year for the Deewana Bana De campaign while Prakash Ramchandani of MAX was adjudged the TV Marketing Executive of the Year, Anuj Gandhi of SET-Discovery Ltd. walked away with the TV Distribution Executive of the Year and Shola Rajachandran was adjudged the TV Communication and PR Executive of the Year.

Ajmal Jani bagged the best videography award (non-fiction) for the episode on mental heath on Reality Bites while rivals Hathway Cable and Datacom and IncableNet jointly shared the award for MSO/Cable Operator of the Year.

According to Anil Wanvari, CEO,, both the technical as well as the popular awards saw a jump of 50 per cent in entries, compared to last year. Overall, entries were close to 1,200 with four separate juries presiding over the various categories.

For the trade and technical awards, the jury comprised a four-member team of Ravi Rai, Vivek Agnihotri, Dharam Gulati and Javed Sayed. Wanvari claims that he is keen to see more categories and juries included in the following year. "These awards are for the industry and we are merely facilitators," he says. "The industry so far has appreciated our efforts and we would like feedback from them so that we could finetune processes, procedures, categories, juries and so on," he adds. © 2003 agencyfaqs!

Related Articles

Search Tags

© 2003 agencyfaqs!