afaqs! news bureau

Nine Indians in Cannes jury panel

The list includes panellists in Advertising, Marketing and even Film Production categories.

Nine Indians have made it to the international jury panel of the coveted Cannes Lion International Festival of Creativity this year. The annual festival, which is in its 60th year, is scheduled to take place during June 16-22.

Nine Indians in Cannes jury panel
Piyush Pandey, executive chairman and creative director, South Asia, Ogilvy & Mather India will be part of the Titanium & Integrated Lions jury. Dan Wieden, co-founder and chairman, Wieden+Kennedy, will preside over the category.

Sandeep Kaul, CEO, personal care product SBU, ITC, will be in the Creative Effectiveness jury, to be led by Shelly Lazarus, chairman emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather.

Abhinay Deo, director, Ramesh Deo Production is part of the Film Craft Lions jury, in which Joe Pytka, director, Pytka Productions is the president.

Russell Barrett, managing partner, BBH, is on the Film Lions jury, which coincidentally is headed by Sir John Hegarty, founder, creative, Bartle Bogle Hegarty (BBH).

Santosh Padhi, chief creative director and co-founder, Taproot, is part of the Press Lions jury, led by Marcello Serpa, partner and CCO, AlmapBBDO.

Prathap Suthan, managing partner, Bang in the Middle, is involved in the Outdoor Lions jury with Tony Granger, global CCO, Young & Rubicam as jury president.

Wizcraft director Sabbas Joseph is on the Promo & Activation Lions jury, which is headed by Rob Schwartz, global creative president, TBWAWorldwide.

Akshay Kapnadak, executive creative director, McCann, is a Radio Lions jury panellist, presided over by Ralph van Dijk, co-founder and creative director, Eardrum.

Umbrella Design co-founder Bhupal Ramnathkar is a jurist in Design Lions category, where Mary Lewis, creative director and founding partner, Lewis Moberly, is the jury president.

The festival, which is held in Cannes, France, comprises 16 categories, namely, Branded Content & Entertainment Lions, Creative Effectiveness Lions, Cyber Lions, Design Lions, Direct Lions, Film Craft Lions, Film Lions, Press Lions, Media Lions, Mobile Lions, Outdoor Lions, Promo & Activation Lions, PR Lions, Radio Lions, Titanium & Integrated Lions and Innovation Lions (introduced for the first time this year). As the name suggests, the Innovation Lions recognise and award technology and innovations.

The Times of India is the official representative for the festival and coordinates the nomination entries and delegates for the award.

The deadline for the entries for all awards is March 28, except the Creative Effectiveness Lions category. The festival is currently open to delegate registration.

Have news to share? Write to us