afaqs! news bureau

ISA elects new chairman

HUL's Hemant Bakshi will take over the reins from Kurush N Grant, former chairman and executive director, ITC.

Hemant Bakshi, executive director, home and personal care, Hindustan Unilever, has been elected as chairman of Indian Society of Advertisers (ISA). He will replace Kurush N Grant, the former ISA chairman and executive director, ITC.

ISA elects new chairman
On being appointed chairman, Bakshi says, "We are going through a challenging period and it is crucial that ISA, along with other associate members, works towards sustainable growth of the industry."

An alumnus of IIT Mumbai and IIM Ahmedabad, Bakshi has been with HUL since 1989. In 2002, he was the regional manager, south, and was promoted as regional brand vice-president (FAL and Lifebuoy), South Asia in 2005. Bakshi was also appointed as regional category vice-president for skin, South Asia, a year later. After being part of HUL's management committee as executive director, sales and customer development for three-and-a-half years, Bakshi moved to his current position.

An active member in various industry forums, Bakshi is also the chairman of The Indian Soaps & Toiletries Manufacturers Association, a board member of Advertising Standards Council of India (ASCI) and part of Broadcast Audience Research Council (BARC) board as well.

During his free time, Bakshi likes to participate in marathons and takes an avid interest in golf.

Meanwhile, the other members of the executive council are Atul Agrawal, vice-president, corporate affairs, group corporate affairs and media, Tata Services; Abraham Alapatt, head, marketing, Thomas Cook (India); Narendra Ambwani, director, Agro Tech Foods; Jimmy R Anklesaria, director, business development, Bajaj Corp; Mohit Beotra, chief brand officer, India, Bharti Airtel; J C Chopra, director, Infogain India; Paulomi Dhawan, director, Landmarc Leisure; Sonali Dhawan, marketing director, Procter & Gamble Hygiene and Health Care; Rajiv Dube, director, group corporate service, Aditya Birla Management; Kurush N Grant, executive director, ITC; Sunil Kataria, chief operating officer, sales, marketing and SAARC, Godrej Consumer Products; Anisha Motwani, director and chief marketing officer, Max Life Insurance; Siddhartha Mukherjee, director, chocolate category and media, Cadbury India; Mayank Pareek, chief operating officer (marketing and sales), Maruti Suzuki India; Bharat V Patel, board member, Birla Sun Life Asset Management; Chandrasekar Radhakrishnan, vice president, communications, Nestle India; R Ramakrishnan, group CEO, Polycab Wires; Shipra Tripathi, vice-president, corporate global marketing, Kirloskar Brothers; Brahm Vasudeva, chairman, Hawkins Cookers.

ISA is a national body for advertisers to voice their concerns. It is a 60-year old body, whose members contribute two-third of the national non-governmental ad spends. Some of the recent issues, where ISA has intervened include TRP frequency, HD feed ad, reinforcement of self-regulation, participation in consumer forums and formation of BARC.

Have news to share? Write to us