afaqs! news bureau

HUL's Harish Manwani to chair IAA's IndIAA Awards

Other jury members for the awards include D Shivakumar, Bhaskar Bhatt, Mayank Pareek, Sanjeeb Chaudhari, Sangeeta Pendurkar and B Sriram.

Harish Manwani, chief operating officer, Unilever, and non-executive chairman, Hindustan Unilever, will be chairing an all-star jury for IndIAA awards.

IndIAA Awards, launched by International Advertising Association (IAA) in its silver jubilee year, aims to recognise the "real hard working creative advertising." Other jury members for the IndIAA Awards include D Shivakumar (chairman & CEO, PepsiCo India), Bhaskar Bhatt (MD, The Titan Company), Mayank Pareek (president, passenger vehicles unit, Tata Motors), Sangeeta Pendurkar (MD, Kellogg India), Sanjeeb Chaudhari (global CMO and regional head, South Asia, Standard Chartered Bank) and B Sriram (MD, State Bank of India).

HUL's Harish Manwani to chair IAA's IndIAA Awards
HUL's Harish Manwani to chair IAA's IndIAA Awards
HUL's Harish Manwani to chair IAA's IndIAA Awards
Manwani said from Singapore, "Creativity is critical to great advertising - advertising that ultimately helps to build successful brands. I am very glad that the India Chapter of the International Advertising Association (IAA), in its silver jubilee year, has decided to institute the IndIAA awards to celebrate honest advertising that works hard in the market place. Effective advertising implies the existence of deep consumer insights, the rigour of a repeatable process between the client and agency, and optimal level of media spends. Only then does a great creative idea get transformed into effective advertising. I look forward to chairing the jury of the IndIAA awards in Mumbai on September 2, 2015."

According to Pradeep Guha, chairman, IndIAA Awards, "In its inaugural edition, advertising campaigns that were released between July 1, 2014, and June 30, 2015, will be honoured in multiple product and service categories. To qualify for the Award, the campaign should have film (TV or Digital) as one of its elements. In each product or service category, no more than an overall winner and a challenger brand (a newcomer) would be awarded. The awards ceremony would be held in Mumbai in early October 2015. This is an initiative to reward truly creative advertising, and I am confident it will win great respect for its objectives. There will be no entry fee."

Srinivasan Swamy, president, IAA, said, "At the IndIAA awards event, you will see campaigns that have been watched and loved, and go on to impress our stellar jury, being awarded. Therefore, we will invite on stage all the co-creators of the campaign to accept the award. This will include the marketing team, the agency creative team, the media team and other agencies who contributed to the success of the campaign." He further said, "Keeping with our ethos of 'what's good is good for business', for the first time in the advertising industry, there will be a special award for gender sensitive advertising."

IAA is the world's only globally-focussed integrated advertising trade association with membership representing advertising agencies and the media. It comprises corporate members, organisational members, educational affiliates, as well as 56 Chapters with individual members and young professionals from 76 countries, including the top 10 economies in the world. IAA is over 75 years old and is headquartered in New York.

Have news to share? Write to us