afaqs! news bureau

140 channels defy TRAI's ad cap rule; names released

These channels have failed to follow TRAI's directive during the 7-10 pm slot, during February 30-March 1, 2015.

The Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) has disclosed names of 140 TV channels that are not complying with its 10+2 ad cap regulation.

140 channels defy TRAI's ad cap rule; names released
As per TRAI, 39 news channels and 101 non-news channels did not follow the ad cap directive during the peak hours (7-10 pm slot), between February 30 and March 1, 2015.

As per information available with TRAI, the remaining news channels and pay non-news channels are carrying advertisements (commercial and self promotional) of less than 12 minutes average duration per hour, during these peak hours.

Some of the big names in the news genre include India TV, ABP News, CNN-IBN, Aaj Tak, CNBC TV-18, NDTV 24X7, Headlines Today, ETV Gujarati and Times Now.

In the pay channels (non-news) category, the channels that are defying the ad cap ruling include channels from 9X Media, Star India, Multi Screen Media, Discovery Communications, Sun TV Network, The Walt Disney Company (India), ZEEL and Viacom18.

The channels from these networks include Sun TV, Sab TV, Sony TV, Star Plus, Life Ok, Star Pravah, Fox Star, Suvarna, Big Magic, 9X Jalwa, Zee TV, Discovery Channel, MTV, Colors Hungama, Disney, &Pictures.

Please find the complete list below.

Have news to share? Write to us