afaqs! news bureau

IBF re-elects Punit Goenka as president

The Annual General Meeting was held today in Delhi.

Indian Broadcasting Foundation's board of directors, today, re-elected Punit Goenka, managing director and chief executive officer Zee Entertainment Enterprises (ZEEL) as president. The Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held today (September 15, 2017) in Delhi, following which there was a board meeting where the decision was taken.

IBF re-elects Punit Goenka as president
Punit Goenka

Board members also elected K. Madhavan (Asianet Communications), N. P. Singh (Sony Pictures Network), Rajat Sharma (India TV) and Sudhanshu Vats (Viacom 18 India) as Vice Presidents of the Foundation for the second consecutive term. Mr. Aroon Purie was elected as the Treasurer of the Foundation. The Board also co-opted CEO of Prasar Bharati, Mr. Shashi S. Vempati as the Director on the Board.

Speaking on the occasion, IBF President, Mr Punit Goenka says, “I am elated to lead the Industry body for the second consecutive year. It places a huge responsibility on my shoulders to steer the sector through challenges and complexities. I look forward to the support of each and everyone in the fraternity to collaborate with the government and other regulatory bodies to provide an enabling environment to conduct our businesses in a transparent and goal centric manner linking it inextricably to the India’s media and entertainment sector growth story”.

Have news to share? Write to us