afaqs! news bureau
People Spotting

Amit Agarwal takes over as New IAMAI Chairman

The new team was announced at the 15th Annual General Meeting, held today.

Amit Agarwal, Senior Vice-President, Amazon and Country Manager, India, is the new Chairman of Internet and Mobile Association of India [IAMAI].

Amit assumes office at a time when the industry is going through a growth trajectory with more than 500 million internet users in India. In fact, the recent Mary Meeker report indicates that India now accounts for 12 percent of the world's internet users, second only to China (21 percent).

Amit Agarwal takes over as New IAMAI Chairman

Amit Agarwal

On assuming office, Mr Agarwal said: This is an exciting phase in the growth story of internet in India. As the internet revolution continues to be a socio-economic leveler, offering barrier-free access to Indian customers and small businesses in the remotest areas, I am excited that we are coming together as an industry to help truly harness the potential of the internet and emerging technologies such as AI in addressing India-specific problems at scale. I look forward to IAMAI continuing to offer a thoughtful platform for the industry to collaborate with the government, academia & think-tanks and other relevant stakeholders to leverage the digital ecosystem and contribute to India's growth.”

He added, "We will continue to offer evidence-based insights to not only be trusted as thought leaders in the emerging areas of tomorrow but also in the debates today. The association remains committed therefore to bring forward non-partisan leading reports that include multiple perspectives to help lay the road map for achieving the 1 trillion dollar digital economy along with job creation, improving livelihood and contribution to the overall GDP of the country.”

Dhruv Shringi, co-founder and CEO, Yatra is the new Vice Chairman of IAMAI. Mr Shringi takes over his new role from Mr Deep Kalra, founder and Group CEO of MakeMyTrip.

Satyan Gajwani, Vice-Chairman of Times Internet has been elected as the new Treasurer of the association. Dr. Subho Ray continues to be the President of the association. The tenure of the new council is for two years.

The new team was announced at the 15th Annual General Meeting, which was held today.

Have news to share? Write to us