afaqs! news bureau

Srinivasan Swamy re-elected as president of IAA India Chapter

Neeraj Roy, managing director and CEO of, was re-elected as the vice president for the third term.

The India Chapter of International Advertising Association (IAA), at the annual general meeting on September 30, elected Srinivasan Swamy, chairman of R K Swamy Hansa Group and vice president-development of IAA Asia Pacific, as its president for the fourth consecutive term.

Srinivasan Swamy re-elected as president of IAA India Chapter
Srinivasan Swamy re-elected as president of IAA India Chapter
"I am humbled by the confidence shown by the members in choosing me to head this international body in India. The last three years have been exciting in that we demonstrated to the marketing and advertising community through the initiatives and events we held that IAA is a thought leader in many respects. Further, the awards that we have instituted were both relevant and meaningful," Swamy said.

Neeraj Roy, managing director and CEO of was re-elected as the vice president for the third term. Monica Tata, former MD of HBO India, was re-elected as secretary. Janak Sarda, Jt. MD of Deshdoot Publications was elected as the treasurer.

In addition, Abhishek Karnani, Vishakha Singh, Jaideep Gandhi, Anand Sankeshwar and Manish Advani were elected as members of the managing committee. Kaushik Roy continues on the committee as the immediate past president.

Pradeep Guha, area director, IAA Asia Pacific, said, "The last few years have seen considerable momentum in terms of the activities IAA has been involved in. This has been reflected in the World Board recognising the India Chapter as the best chapter twice consecutively. I am delighted that Srinivasan Swamy will be steering the India Chapter of the IAA this year as well. It could be a period of continued growth as well as consolidation. The presence of young leaders on the managing committee augurs well for the future of the IAA."

At the first managing committee meeting held immediately after the AGM, five additional members were co-opted as per IAA Constitution. These were M V Shreyams Kumar, Dr. Bhaskar Das, Ashok Venkatramani, C V L Srinivas and Pradeep Dwivedi.

In addition, Guha, Ramesh Narayan, Sam Balsara, M G Parameswaran, Raj Nayak, Atit Mehta, Vikram Sakhuja and Kunal Lalani were invited to be part of the committee. More members are likely to be inducted in the next few weeks.

2014-15 was the silver jubilee year for IAA India. The Silver Jubilee Summit, held in early September in Kochi, saw over 1100 delegates participating. The year saw IAA India Chapter clock in 38 programmes to make it the most active industry body in India.

The IAA is a globally-focussed integrated advertising trade association with membership representing advertising agencies and the media. The IAA comprises corporate members, organisational members, educational affiliates, as well as 56 chapters with individual members and young professionals from 76 countries, including the top 10 economies in the world. lAA is over 75 years old and is headquartered in New York.

Membership to the Indian Chapter of IAA is by invitation. India was the recipient of the Best Chapter Award in 2010 and 2014. IAA India is recognised for some of its marquee events like the IAA Olive Crown Awards, IAA Leadership Awards, IAA Debates, IAA Conversations, IAA-Kyoorius Digiyatra, IAA Young Turks Forum and an array of IAA knowledge seminars, webinars, workshops, conclaves etc. IAA India also hosted Narendra Modi at IAA Platinum Jubilee Global Marketing Summit as the chief guest, when he was the Prime Ministerial candidate in September 2013.

Have news to share? Write to us