afaqs! news bureau
Company Briefs

Industry leaders lend their voice to IAA Seminar on Gender Sensitization on 16th Feb 2013

Company Brief

Mumbai, February 12, 2013

A galaxy of top speaker will address content creators in advertising and media on 16th February in Mumbai at the Seminar on Gender Sensitivity being organized by the India Chapter of the International Advertising Association (IAA) in partnership with UNFPA (United Nations Population Fund), Laadli, an NGO and the Zee Group.

Branded VOW (stop Violence On Women) this is the first step in the IAA’s major initiative to try and use the power of creative and effective communication to change behavioral patterns regarding women’s issues in our society.

Mr. Srinivasan Swamy, President IAA said “Sometimes unconsciously, content creators reinforce gender stereotypes. We also need to be very focused on not portraying women as objects. This Seminar, aimed at our advertising, media and entertainment industry is a way of looking within ourselves and making sure we portray women in the right light at all times”.

Mr. Kaushik Roy, Chairman, Public Service Committee said “the spontaneous response of so many leaders of the creative part of our industry is very heartening. With such content, I am sure the Seminar will be a unique experience.”

The speakers include Abhijeet Awasti of Ogilvy, Anuja Gulati of UNFPA, Josy Paul of BBDO India, Sangeetha Narasimhan of R K SWAMY BBDO, Tista Setalwad of JWT, K V Sridhar of Leo Burnett, Dr. A L Sharada of Laadli, Dr. Anjali Monteiro of TISS, Nandita Gandhi of Akshara, Geeta Rao, Ajay Balwankar of Zee, Mandira Bedi and Zoya Akhtar.

Industry representatives interested in registering for this important Seminar (no entry fee) should send details of their names, designation and the company they represent to and bring the acknowledgement they receive to the venue.


1. Abhijit Avasthi - Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy India

2. Ajay Balwankar - Head of Programming, Zee

3. Anuja Gulati - State Programme Officer of UNFPA (United Nation Population Fund)

4. Dr A L Sharada - Programme Director, LAADLI

5. Dr Anjali Monteiro - Professor & Dean School of Media and Cultural Studies, TISS

6. Dr. Shyam Benegal - Film Director & Screenwriter - MP

7. Geeta Rao - Creative Director, Geeta’s List

8. Josy Paul - Chairman & National Creative Director, BBDO India

9. K V Sridhar (Pops) - National Creative Director, Leo Burnett

10. Mandira Bedi - TV personality

11. Nandita Gandhi - Co-director, Akshara

12. Sangeetha Narasimhan - Executive Creative Director, R K SWAMY BBDO

13. Sonal Dabral - Chairman & Chief Creative Officer, DDB Mudra

14. Tista Sen - National Creative Director, JWT

15. Zoya Akhtar - Film Director

For further information, please contact:

HANSA Public Relations

Pushpa Chauhan

Mobile: +919324562724