Alokananda Chakraborty

Four admen honoured at India Brand Summit; Lowe is Agency of the Year

O&M’s Ranjan Kapur, Lowe’s Prem Mehta and R Balakrishnan, and McCann’s Prasoon Joshi were the ad professionals who were conferred Leadership Excellence Awards

O&M India's outgoing chief and Managing Director Ranjan Kapur, Lowe's Managing Director & Vice-Chairman Prem Mehta, Lowe's Executive Creative Director R Balakrishnan (Balki), and Prasoon Joshi, national creative director, McCann-Erickson India, were the four advertising professionals who were conferred Leadership Excellence Awards on the inaugural day of this year's India Brand Summit, which kicked off in Mumbai yesterday evening. The Summit - organized by financial paper Business Standard, in collaboration with the Indira Group of Institutes, Pune - centers at the theme, ‘Performance-driven brands build sustainable enterprise value'. In addition to the four individual awards that came the ad industry's way, Lowe was honoured as the Advertising Agency of the Year.

A host of Awards for Leadership Excellence were given away to industry captains and organizations for impressive marketing and branding efforts. While CK Ranganathan, managing director, CavinKare, was declared the Marketing Professional of the Year, Sunil Mittal, chairman and managing director, Bharti Enterprises, received the CEO of the Year award. Naina Lal Kidwai, vice-chairman and managing director, HSBC Securities and Capital Markets, was conferred the Outstanding Professional of the Year award. The award for Excellence in Brand Building went to Pantaloon India Ltd, while the Brand Excellence and Leadership award was presented to Blue Dart Express.

McCann's Joshi was found worthy of being the Creative Professional of the Year, while Balki was handed a Special Achievement award. Four industry stalwarts were also bestowed with Lifetime Achievement awards. These include O&M's Kapur, Lowe's Mehta, Dr DB Gupta (CMD, Lupin) and Dr Verghese Kurien (Amul). The jury that selected this year's winners of the various Leadership Excellence awards comprised Harish Mehta (chairman and managing director, Onward Technologies), Dr Prasad Meduri (managing director, SGI India), Ganesh Natrajan (deputy chairman and CEO, Zensar), Prakash Rastogi (managing director, Clariant), Raman Madhok (deputy managing director and CEO, Jindal Iron and Steel), Zoher Khorakiwala (chairman, Monginis), Dr J Wong (director, Kelloggs, South-Asia), SK Panicker (senior vice-president marketing & COO, Eureka Forbes), Ms Akila Urankar (CEO, Business Standard) and Bhaskar Ghose (managing director, IndusInd Bank). © 2003 agencyfaqs!

Have news to share? Write to us