Indian agencies bag 13 shortlists at YoungGuns Awards 2009

By afaqs! news bureau , afaqs!, Mumbai | In Advertising
Last updated : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM
Ogilvy India has eight shortlisted entries; JWT India has three, while Leo Burnett India and Rediffusion Y&R have one each

The nominees for the YoungGuns Awards 2009 have been declared. Ogilvy India, JWT India, Leo Burnett India and Rediffusion Y&R together have bagged 13 shortlists from India in this year's edition.

The award ceremony will be held in Sydney on November 27.

Ogilvy India leads the pack with eight shortlists; JWT India has three entries shortlisted, while Leo Burnett and Rediffusion Y&R have one each.

Saurabh Kulkarni and Nasrullah Husami from Ogilvy India have been nominated for their Perfetti Van Melle Sour Marbles (Caveman, Diver and Tourist) campaign in four categories - Print Advertising - Newspapers, Print Advertising Campaigns - Newspapers, Out of Home Campaigns and Out of Home - Outdoor Posters (any size).

JWT India's Minal Phatak, Rohit Redekar, Tista Sen and Nandita Chalam have bagged a nomination for Berger Paints India's Berger Natural Finish Colours campaign in the Out of Home - Outdoor Large Format category.

The Run/Ban Jallikatu campaign for The Times of India has been shortlisted under the Digital - Being Involved category and the nominees from JWT India are Arjun Kumar, Shiva Parameswaran, Senthil Kumar, Jeff Emmanuel, Arun Kumar, Mark Manuel and Mayun Samavedam.

The last in the list for JWT India is's Arjuna the Archer in 2008 AD, wherein Jeff Emmanuel, Mark Manuel, Arun Kumar, Arjun Nalapat, Senthil Kumar, Suresh Eriyat and Karthik Sekhar have been nominated for Digital Visual Design - Aesthetic category.

Chinmay Raut and Vikram Pandey from Leo Burnett India have been nominated for the Wrapper campaign for P&G Whisper in the Direct Mail Nominated Low Volume Mailings category.

Rediffusion Y&R has pocketed a nomination in Print Advertising Campaigns - Newspapers category for its Airtel Mobile Phone Data Backup Service campaign for Bharti Airtel, for which Megha Dutta, Anunay Rai, Jaideep Mahajan, Deepesh Jha and Shameem Mohammad have been nominated.

The jury members at YoungGuns Awards 2009 include Ravi Deshpande, chairperson and chief creative officer, Contract Advertising; Tony Granger, global chief creative officer, Y&R USA; Amir Kassei, chief creative officer, DDB Group Germany; Tay Guan Hin, creative director, Southeast Asia, JWT Singapore; Michael Spirkovski, founder and creative director, Cassius Clay Australia; Eric Kallman, copywriter, Wieden+Kennedy UK; Craig Allen, art director, Wieden+Kennedy UK; Lisa Fedyszyn, senior creative, Colenso BBDO Auckland; and Dave Bowman, creative director, Saatchi & Saatchi Australia.

First Published : September 25, 2014 04:04 PM

© 2009 afaqs!